Momentary Reasons for Lapsing

May 6, 2013 at 10:52 pm (Mile Stones) (, , , , , , , , , , )

image

To put off obeying Him till we find a credible theory concerning Him is to set aside the potion we know it is our duty to drink, for the study of various schools of therapy.
~ George MacDonald (1824-1905)

I have a confession…the above is/was me. I could “lay blame” by saying that this is how I was taught – but honestly its only who I listened to. The fact is, God is the great initiator and “causer” of all things. “The wrong road” often is exactly His purpose for most of us.
Sounds like blasphemy, huh? Then I leave you to deliberate with Him by asking the questions:

Who put the “snake” in the garden? Who stood back and watched “it” fall? And what human being has ever been born without a flesh that’s set against the the things of God?”

My Good Shepherd has had me on “assignment” for a while. While in “appearance” it may seem trivial; I assure you nothing He ever asks me to do is ever “trivial”. Simply put He said,

What you missed today don’t go back and try to “recoup” tomorrow.”

I was like:

Huh??” Isn’t that a bit like ‘giving up’? I thought You were all about ‘trying again’, Lord?”

I am pretty sure He smiled, but the words ended there for a time. I didn’t “get it”. A Brother in a book wrote that too often we ask general and blanket questions, God answers, and we stop there forgetting to ask for each detail or step of the general direction. That was me. OK, so I began attempting to stop “recouping” what I was missing yesterday. Needless to say His instructions were to go to “Niveveh”, I ended up “out to sea” narrowly missing the “mouth of a whale”. So I am “floating upon waves, choking on salt water and crying “Abba!”” and He says;

“Silly goose, you didn’t ask Me what I meant! You presumed, spoke your presumption, and began to apply the “perscription to the wrong wound” if you will.”

O.” Says I. “Forgive me Father, how then would You like me to proceed?”

He said to ask Him in the morning (this conversation was in my bed just before my lids hit my “off button”).

The next morning I obeyed, asked and kept on asking until I was clear on what He meant by what I “miss” and not to attempt to “recoup”. This meant asking “this?” all day long. It was tedious and I felt more than a little insane by the end of the day. Of course the obvious was lost on me. In my zeal to obey, I asked during the day what I “missed” and…achem…it wasn’t over yet! 🙂

Turns out the next day was much less insane. He was faithful to show me all I “missed” the day before. My heart being reoriented back into moment by moment seeking His guidance allowed for the application to be spot on.  An example:

We live in a world where if you “miss” an email, text, or call…even a TV show; you can view it “later” and “make up for lost time” – so to speak. Imagine my big round “O” shaped mouth when He said:

“Yep, that’s one of them.” Always smiling…if you want to know how I know when He’s smiling; there’s no words that can convince in human logic, I just know. 🙂

So, then the next question came (remember its from one step to the next). I am looking at my “misses” and I say:

Okay, so since I “missed” these when they came; what now?”

“Erase/delete them.” He said. Short, simple, sweet.

I was flummoxed! I stared at my “misses” did my “but, but, but…what if…what if what if’s” and…obeyed. Ugh! Talk about weird! This went on for many days, even months, in the process I was amazed at how I began to “cheat”. I would get an email, not really having “time” to read it I would open it and read it and feel justified in not having to erase it because “I didn’t miss it, right?” Yet, I could not reply to it at the time I read it. Needless to say, I missed quite a bit and kept asking and obeying until the meaning or function behind His request began to trickle in.

Most the people I talk to always feel completely drained. Mysef included. Trying to cover bases that cover bases that never were absolutely necessary in the first place! Remember when you weren’t home to get the phone when someone called?? Did the world end? Remember when if you weren’t home to “catch” a show, ya just had to wait for reruns or better yet, ya just missed the show? If you don’t remember times like that, you are missing out! Things happened that we could not “attend” to and it was all good anyhow. The modern conveniences we now “enjoy” have the capacity to enslave. Adding burdens that God never meant for us to carry. You can’t imagine the “flack” I got for “being unavailable” on my cell from those who have been trained to think “a cell phone leaves someone without excuse to not be available whenever it “rings”! Once the Sun has set folks, the day is over. There’s no “going back”. This exercise was beautifully orchestrated by God to:

A) Teach me to let go.

B) Show me how to ask Him what is and is not a priority for Him with me….all day.

C) How He can and will lighten my load, if I will listen and not reason but just trust Him and obey.

D) There is no area too small that He is not interested in leading me in.

This folder is called Mile Stones. It has entries of my very personal walk with God. It is humbling! But oh so rewarding! My cell phone is my “computer”. As I type, its upon its touch screen my fingers traverse. Its how I view my every communication via at a “distance”. It at one point was “the center of my universe” in ways I am ashamed to admit. Yet, now, having listened and obeyed the Spirit of the Living God – its just a cell phone. Life goes on without it, in fact often it takes place especially outside of it. Cyber land is intoxicating…and invasive…if used by anyone other than the Lord. He uses it!! Oh, yes, He does! Sometimes its in teaching us how not to use it He uses it best :-).

image

Grace and peace in Yeshua the Messiah ❤

2 Comments

  1. Men of One Accord said,

    I got this post yesterday and just now have read it today, does that make my comment late? Please do not rush a reply for it will be saved somewhere in that electro world. Why can I not just say great post and I know these words you have written. God Bless, James

    Like

    • buttrflygrl14 said,

      Lol! Ahhh Brother James, you gave me a delightful laugh and your kindness and encouragement shined upon my weary soul!! Thank you! Feel free to gibber, gabber, rant, rave, and post whatever comes to your heart here!! Many blessings to you as well dear Brother 🙂 peeps

      Like

Leave a Reply

sevv61's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

James1948's Blog

"Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free"

Yiddishkeit 101™

Jewish educational tools for all ages

Answers in Torah

torah-observant messianic judaism (Nazarenes-Netzarim)

Jeremiah 33 Three

I will call to Him and He will answer.

Obadiah's Cave

A place of safety

Lessons From Lou

Kainos Ktisis - What it Means to Be a New Creature in Christ!

Impartial Christian Ministries

“Truly I understand that God shows no partiality." Acts 10:34

Morning Meditations

"When you awake in the morning, learn something to inspire you and mediate upon it, then plunge forward full of light with which to illuminate the darkness." -Rabbi Tzvi Freeman

Biblical Word Studies: Inspirational Commentary Translation and Exegesis

Bible Study, News and Research from a Heavenly Perspective

WTFAI

It is a great mystery that though the human heart longs for Truth, in which alone it finds liberation and delight, the first reaction of human beings to Truth is one of hostility and fear! -Anthony de Mello

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

Wise Devotions For Inspiration

Devotions are able to guide when scripture is posted, and to show someone our lives with God in it, to help others prosper like God intended.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Mind Traffic

Thought's to Inspire

inspirit*ational

Filled with words of inspiration.

From the Inside Out

Impressions Becoming Expressions

