Distinctives

August 22, 2014 at 4:09 am (Mile Stones) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

image

Recently I embarked on a new way of eating. Diet is a concept set up for temporary experimentation; sadly. This concept of food; what’s good, what is not, is so akin to the concept of sin it quite frankly amazes me. Have you ever googled quotes about sin? How about quotes about animal protein? The main stream of Web-based information is strikingly simular. Weak and paltry at best in helping one get at the heart of the matter. As with all things God leaves plenty of room for us to formulate our own opinions or adopt His as He created all and knows best how to advise how life can be lived to the fullest. Man’s opinions are as countless as the stars. .. with plenty of options to choose from. God’s are simple. .. but not easy. The options are few in order to keep it simple; which we need in all honesty. In man’s mind God is marrow minded. Yet look what He has created! If that’s narrow minded. .. then perhaps man is projecting!?! The most narrow minded God can be comes from man’s mind dulled by his own intellect and pride. We are just lazy, pleasure seeking fools with comfort driven desires to kick God out of the very universe He creates. Praise be to God, we’ll never be able to think and therefore it becomes! Not like Him. In Him the possibilities are endless, apart from Him our thoughts produce vapor and mist!

So. .. this new lifestyle of food consumption has really revealed much in the spiritual nature of my condition. .. perhaps more so than my physical. I begin to understand why diets are so short lived. One cannot begin to deprive the body of the previous poisons it has called “food” without it revealing the true nature of its need and depravity. After a time it becomes a question of “Why do this, with all its ‘misery’ and die anyway?” Ahhhh. .. man’s logic, it stupefies the heart. .. or as God calls it. .. hardens. Discipline is hard. .. endurance with it is down right extenuating! When I began down this road it was exciting and new. I knew in my head that it would be hard but the newness of it for the first 30 days kept me from feeling the difficulties. 60 plus days and I’m still inspired because the body really does begin to reveal the amazingness that God created it to be by now, but the world has shrunk in its options! There are two restaurants we can eat at that adhere to this way of eating. Two! We make our own snacks, meals, condiments. .. everything. The shelves in my cupboards are bare. .. My frig. .. poor little thing, is about to burst at the seams! I miss quickie meals. I miss spending an average of 1-2 hours in my kitchen (including clean up) verses the 4 plus it seems I spend in it now. My forty plus years of living has plenty of recipes to draw from in the “old” ways. I love cooking and cherish creativity in meal making… always have. But the new way leaves me feeling like all the “old” experience helps about as much as if I only spent 10 minutes worth of experience before.  It’s humbling! Do you see the spiritual overtones in the language? The few options the world presents verses before the world was my oyster! The knowledge of the former way being useless to the new! The need to dig deeper to find the source of my discontent verses before the shelves of every aisle at the store held a temporary “fix”. The concept that everything God gives does not have a “shelf life”; its not meant to be kept but consumed and lived! Here’s a real big eye opener! Try to find a product in the grocery store with absolutely no sugar, oil, or dairy! Its like shopping in the store of the heart trying to find one motive without self-centeredness or  self-need! I find God never points me in a direction physically that He doesn’t intend to work most on my heart in His hands!

By now, you are likely either drawing conclusions about the eating style I’m referring to or dying of curiosity! Forgive my vagueness. I’m simply not trying to endorse my food choices with this piece. I’m happy to share if you want to comment/question below but the main ingredient to this dish is not “food”. It’s Life, in the hands of a God who even told us how to eat food for our physical best, as well as made sure that the meal He emphasized was at the heart of our minds and thoughts being emptied for Him alone to fill. .. With His Word. True food. .. is His every direction/instruction.

Do I crave the old stuff? Sure, from time to time. .. but do I really miss it?  No. I miss the ease of the former. .. but I’m learning to love the work of the new. Waiting for that part in the process when it will no longer feel like work. .. it’s joy now but Everlasting joy too! The danger is always how we balance the earn/reward mentality. I could still get sick and die. There’s no promise of cancer free living just because I’m eating right now. A plus B does not equal C in the Kingdom of Heaven. .. not the way we do it. If your physical life is getting your attention. .. God is drawing your real attention to your heart in His hands. Notice this in the parables Yeshua (Jesus) taught with! Its not what the eyes see, and body feels that grants us knowledge. .. it’s been given only to draw our gaze up to His “big screen” of Life! The true question becomes the distinctive: “Am I trying to glorify myself or is my sincere heart for God and His ways to be glorified?”

I praise Him with my whole heart these days that His ways and thoughts are higher and so much unlike mine, yet so humbled that He makes them accessible to me! In the smallest of things He is the biggest of all! And in the biggest of things His simplicity is astounding! I’m in awe of Him! What a mind blowing God we serve! 

image

Grace and peace in Yeshua the Messiah

1 Comment

  1. Distinctives | sevv61's Blog said,

    […] Distinctives. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

sevv61's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

James1948's Blog

"Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free"

Yiddishkeit 101™

Jewish educational tools for all ages

Answers in Torah

torah-observant messianic judaism (Nazarenes-Netzarim)

Jeremiah 33 Three

I will call to Him and He will answer.

Obadiah's Cave

A place of safety

Lessons From Lou

Kainos Ktisis - What it Means to Be a New Creature in Christ!

Impartial Christian Ministries

“Truly I understand that God shows no partiality." Acts 10:34

Morning Meditations

"When you awake in the morning, learn something to inspire you and mediate upon it, then plunge forward full of light with which to illuminate the darkness." -Rabbi Tzvi Freeman

Biblical Word Studies: Inspirational Commentary Translation and Exegesis

Bible Study, News and Research from a Heavenly Perspective

WTFAI

It is a great mystery that though the human heart longs for Truth, in which alone it finds liberation and delight, the first reaction of human beings to Truth is one of hostility and fear! -Anthony de Mello

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

Wise Devotions For Inspiration

Devotions are able to guide when scripture is posted, and to show someone our lives with God in it, to help others prosper like God intended.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Mind Traffic

Thought's to Inspire

inspirit*ational

Filled with words of inspiration.

From the Inside Out

Impressions Becoming Expressions

