Seriously

February 1, 2016 at 11:50 pm (Mile Stones, Remodeling the Mind, Thoughts to Ponder, WSGD Newes) (, , , , , , , , , , )

image

I was recently asked why I take life so seriously.
Teehee, for the first time in my life, I actually giggled at the notion. Nor found criticism in the question. I do take life seriously. In fact, what often other people will make “light of” I’ll find rather dull to do so. To be fair, I do often have to work hard at being light hearted in some matters. Yet, taking life seriously, is the reflection I see in Messiah Yeshua’s (Jesus Christ) face. The Brits wouldn’t have called Him a jovial’ol chap. Americans would never have said He was the life of the party (not real life being referred to). In France, they would have never been able to grasp His love because it came not in the form of intimate relations, and often defied what family loyalty in the world’s terms can seem. The times we live in are serious. The Germans in world War II were serious. It made everyone else take on a certain seriousness. Often people trying to make light of thing at that time would get a very serious response from the majority at the time: “don’t you know there’s a war on?”

My whole life I’ve rather leaned into the direction of humor for escapism. Fully able to sense deep down the seriousness of life, it would pull me down, humor lifted me up. I’m so glad my parents were laughter oriented. My Dad in particular could always make us laugh, even when he was trying to be serious. We were free with laughter, passionate in feelings, and serious about taking life seriously.

My answer to the above inquiry is this:

I’m serious about children being free to be silly and carefree while they can. Balanced by creative teaching of life and it’s seriousness.

I’m serious about seeking out times of humor and laughter, it really is a healing medicine.

I’m serious about all humor not being funny at another’s expense.

I’m serious about the Life God calls me to. His mission for me, His instructions to me and following them resolutely.

I’m serious about joy. Being joyful to others and letting them be joyful to me.

I’m serious about not worrying about things that God says its His job to do.

I’m serious about the Truth without apology. That it most often comes in a serious nature, and should not be ignored.

I’m serious about love, it’s sacrificial nature, and it being a choice rather than a feeling much of the time.

I’m serious about paying attention to the world around me that God has made, and delighting in every inch of landscape, every single sunrise and sunset, every drop of rain, and flake of snow. Every cloud, every rainbow, every breeze and squall of wind. I’m serious about learning all the lessons the seasons teach us. Every tree, bush, blade of grass, weed (these are all flowers by the way – smile). Every form and body of water, every star and planet, the Sun, moon and heavenly shape of their work.

I’m serious about food, the true enjoyment of it and it’s purpose in the human body. The creativity that can be found in it and enjoyment of its riches and strength of its provision.

I’m serious about relationships. The ultra hard work of them, and the profound rewards and benefits of them. These are treasures we take with us forever. I’m convinced of their immense importance over all things in life, business, pleasure etc. People always matter first, their lives, their struggles, their joys and delights.

I’m serious about fun. Teehee, this can get me in trouble, but God knows my heart, and brings balance.

I’m serious about responsibilities in all things. To do all things as unto God, no short cuts, no excuses. In such a vein I’m serious about money, work, and duty. Honor in instructions and how things work properly.

I’m sure if I kept thinking about this I could fill two pages. I think life IS serious. And there IS a war going on. I take seriously an enemy that is a robber of joy, thief of love, strangler of truth, teachers of lies, harbringer of bad news, bad choices, bad things. Most especially these days the duller of hearts and minds to the joys of being serious about serious things. His passion to blot out the Name and character of the Creator, our Savior and Spirit which brings all balance in this life to serious stuff and joyful stuff. I’m serious about God’s work of pulling the teeth out of fear and the weariness out of doing good.

I am serious, much of the time. These days Life is not taken seriously enough. Apathy and laxness mark the generation I see coming up. Self entitlement seems to be winning the days, and expecting something for nothing. I’m serious about that. It’s a cancer. I’m serious about freedom, but not the freedom mankind often is deluded into thinking is a God given “right”. God has given one freedom to all mankind, that is to choose the right (His way) things or the wrong (not His way) things. God is a monarchy, a ruler, THE Ruler. All things are His subjects.

I’m serious about education in so far as that education starts first and foremost with knowledge of God, His ways and getting to know Him as His person. All other education, valuable as it may be in His will, is secondary. I believe in those times under heaven as essential elements to reality and peace and true enjoyment in life, death, life, sadness, joy, health, sickness, and so on. The acceptance of our failures as well as celebration of our strengths – all given by God, none being our own to keep. I believe the rewards of a “well done” by God will far outshine and reward the soul than all the treasures on earth – and this is worth waiting for, though He doesn’t make us wait till eternity. I believe God speaks to each of us daily, through His Word and with His counsel. I’m seriously serious about that. I do not believe in the rule keeping, self checking religion that Yeshua’s Life and teachings have become. I believe in a loving, kind, involved, and supremely intimate God, made known and knowable through the Life work and death of Yeshua His Son and His Resurrection; and the Spirits power to over come death and sin once this choice is made in the life of every individual. I believe that Love is the greatest debt human beings owe each other, none greater. That love comes in very serious forms, such as truth telling, and feedback and reflection in accountability. Yet also steeped in grace and mercy and lack of judgement. This is called encouragement.

Seriously, what is NOT to be taken seriously is the question.

We serve a very serious God about restoration and repentence. Praise Him for it! He takes no ease on this thing He made called Life. Neither should I. When what He takes seriously is taken seriously by us, all the enormous joys and delights of this Life come as natural a byproduct as green grass to rain and sun. Life is serious, seriously amazing, fun, and hard. One day. …one day the only thing I shall know is its joys, delights and pleasures. For now I’m serious about getting the taste of them as He gives them on occasion here, now. Serious about speaking with my mouth but more my life the reality of that in balance . I’m not sorry I’m serious. I’m grateful He had made me thusly.

I’m grateful for the opportunity to pen such words, though they strike me too much about me, with all the I’s. Yet honestly, questions like these give opportunity for me work out a ready answer, and a “mission statement” if you will. (1 Peter 3:15; Phil. 2:12) These things will be shown in my life as a whole but it is good to know that my children and grandchildren can read my mind and heart one day. I’ve always been accused by the “serious adults” of being too child-like. But then, again I get this alot too, being told I’m too serious. I think much of it is timing and perspective. When I’m accused of being child-like, it’s because I have no problem running around chasing my kids in the church parking lot for fun. When I’m told I’m too serious, most people are at the moment trying to escape the harshness of life in that moment. Given my past, it’s hard not to join in at these moments. Balance is the key and I admit without a conscious effort on my part to invite the Spirit to achieve it for me, I’d be stuck in one of the other extremes most the time. There’s a time to laugh when circumstances warrant a good cry. There’s a time to restrain laughter when the circumstances seem to open the doors for nothing but. Serious perspectives are hard to live in 24/7. Yet there’s so much serious stuff these days.

Right now I’m sitting out in the snow, blogging. Literally it’s falling on my phone as I type. But the flakes don’t deter me. They make the experience that much more memorable. It’s seriously a good thing to do things most people call crazy or stupid even. If God says do it, seriously. ..do it!

What is your “take” on life, what’s your perspective? Do people know? Do they hear you speak words that don’t line up with your actions and daily living? Can you be serious in a conversation but still make one laugh? That’s a gift. Can you laugh at serious stuff? And when was the last time you laughed so hard you cried? That’s the medicine!

God is serious, but He takes very serious delight too. Look at the creatures most ignore on a daily basis: birds, squirrels, rabbits and the like. They work everyday, but almost seems to me they play as they do. Especially squirrels, they have the monopoly on play, yet from sun up to sun down take very seriously what’s needed. I feed these furry “rats” as some call them and every day I’m reminded there is a balance to each day that can be found in joy and hard diligent work.

God is the only One who helps us stay grounded between humor and seriousness. Does your relationship with Him provide giggle times with Him? If not, oh boy are you missing out! Giggling with God is the best treasure I have. He’s with me always, sometimes we giggle together about my seriousness, sometimes about the things around us at the moment. The whole world tilts a bit and shakes pixie dust all around when God giggles with His children. It’s better and beyond anything Disney could attempt to make it look like. I’m serious about delighting in and with Adonai! As often as I can, I pursue this. He delights that I do, I believe. God is such a serious subject to most. Rightfully so in its own right, but on the other hand, He is the epitome of joy too. I truly believe those who lose sight of that, haven’t spent enough time out in the wild with Him. It’s there, He can show His delight the most. A close second is hanging with children 7 and under. used to be 10, but ahhh, they grow so serious so fast these days, but honestly it is not altogether unwarranted.

A delightful heart is full of very serious realities, but it’s anchored in the Joy of the Lord, His presence. It’s my sincere prayer that Adonai will profoundly illustrate this to me and carve it into my soul. Serious joy, serious integrity, serious obedience to Him, serious delight in Him. Serious, firm, rooted, steadfast, and immovable – these things!

Glory to God in the highest, glory to Him who takes very serious all His works in this world and in His people. May He get the glory for it all. ..seriously!

Titus 2:7

and in everything set them an example yourself by doing what is good. When you are teaching, have integrity and be serious;

♡ Grace and peace in Yeshua the Messiah ♡

2 Comments

  1. Kathie Whitestone Thompson said,

    “Does your relationship with Him provide giggle times with Him? If not, oh boy are you missing out! Giggling with God is the best treasure I have. He’s with me always, sometimes we giggle together about my seriousness,”
    I so get this! I well remember a day HE said to me, ‘you need to have some holy fun!’
    I have no doubt I have given Him ‘belly laughs’ (no irreverence implied) HE sure has me!
    😊 Blessings

    Like

    • buttrflygrl14 said,

      Hello sister Kathi!

      Thanks so much for sharing that! I love the Spirit of sharing our relations with Abba, it so encourages me when we share this way! I think God has been in a bit of giggle mode since I was formed in the womb, no irreverence intended either. But but oh boy how He so often smiles at me with a humorous crick to His mouth, I sense, and often laughs out loud with me. It totally changed the dynamic of our relationship when I began to have such interactions with Him. I often wonder, doesn’t everybody? Sadly, I’ve discovered indeed most don’t. That grieves my spirit deeply, I think it does His too.

      Grace and peace to you. ..until next time! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

sevv61's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

James1948's Blog

"Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free"

Yiddishkeit 101™

Jewish educational tools for all ages

Answers in Torah

torah-observant messianic judaism (Nazarenes-Netzarim)

Jeremiah 33 Three

I will call to Him and He will answer.

Obadiah's Cave

A place of safety

Lessons From Lou

Kainos Ktisis - What it Means to Be a New Creature in Christ!

Impartial Christian Ministries

“Truly I understand that God shows no partiality." Acts 10:34

Morning Meditations

"When you awake in the morning, learn something to inspire you and mediate upon it, then plunge forward full of light with which to illuminate the darkness." -Rabbi Tzvi Freeman

Biblical Word Studies: Inspirational Commentary Translation and Exegesis

Bible Study, News and Research from a Heavenly Perspective

WTFAI

It is a great mystery that though the human heart longs for Truth, in which alone it finds liberation and delight, the first reaction of human beings to Truth is one of hostility and fear! -Anthony de Mello

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

Wise Devotions For Inspiration

Devotions are able to guide when scripture is posted, and to show someone our lives with God in it, to help others prosper like God intended.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Mind Traffic

Thought's to Inspire

inspirit*ational

Filled with words of inspiration.

From the Inside Out

Impressions Becoming Expressions

