Awake! Part 1

March 13, 2017 at 2:03 am (WSGD Newes) (, , , , , , , )

1 Thessalonians 5:4-11

But you, brothers, are not in the dark, so that the Day should take you by surprise like a thief; for you are people who belong to the light, who belong to the Day. We don’t belong to the night or to the darkness, so let us not be asleep, like the rest are; on the contrary, let us stay alert and sober. People who sleep, sleep in the dark; and people who get drunk, get drunk in the dark.  But since we belong to the Day, let us stay sober, putting on trust and love as a breastplate and the hope of being delivered as a helmet. For God has NOT intended that we should experience His fury, but that we should gain deliverance through our Lord Yeshua (Jesus) the Messiah, who died on our behalf so that whether we are alive or dead, we may live along with Him.  Therefore, encourage each other, and build each other up – just as you are doing.  

I started this thread WSGD NEWES when the blog started. It’s an acronym for W ise as S erpents G entle as D oves N-ewes the last part obviously refers to us, the Sheep of Yeshua’s pasture.There have been few political platform-like posts under this thread. I have yet to read where Yeshua went into the political arena with the exception of when He was forced to just before His death. Since we are to follow after Him, I believe our focus is to stay informed, vote, take responsibility where He has given us those, speak to the brethren to weigh important issues that politics effect the body. Yet, to be consumed with that area I believe can become a dangerous path. There’s a reason our Saviour stayed away, not explained, and I’m all for trusting without any. Yet there is an area that falls outside “normal” church based issues. Societal influence is a big one, and our Shepherd strode into this area with fearlessness. This can involve some politics, as they tend to shape society in invasive ways. My prayer is that He will give me the words for such topics as they can easily consume us, who are waiting His return to become outraged and embittered. Causing a destructive thing called divisiveness in our spirits. A blame game is always running in the background of this life, I don’t wish to become integrated into it, nor encourage others to either. So here, again I state my intentions and leave this at His feet for the reception of it. 

I was on YouTube the other day watching a series on Hebrew language and an Ad popped into the middle. Not the kind I could skip after a few seconds. It was a happy go lucky type infomercial that showed a person pouring Coke a Cola on to a very rusty pan, using a ball of tinfoil, proceeded to scrub it off. It worked. We are all supposed to be like “Oh cool!”, right? With the happy music’s and dramatic souffle it portrayed, I’ll admit 15 years ago, my brain might have actually thought “Wow”, and tried it. I will say, it’s likely the best use for that soda yet! What stuck me this time…millions of people DRINK this stuff every day, sometimes as their only source of liquid! The next thought I had was to ask the Lord, “are people really so asleep that this Ad doesn’t run the risk of ruining the soda industry?” His answer. “Yes.” 

I begin to understand. I once was a Pepsi fan. Coke was too sweet for me. Puh, not by much, last time I sipped on a Pepsi (about 4 years ago) I nearly puked due to the sweetness after having cut it out of my life for only 3 months. Needless to say I don’t miss it, and neither does my brain and body. Yet to paint this picture accurately I may confess that for years and years I stand guilty for this being my primary source of liquid refreshment. I don’t have tons of pictures of myself over the years, but those that exist, nearly all of them I have a Pepsi in my hand. So let me be clear, this isn’t a dietary shame campaign! I knew Pepsi was bad for me, I even knew to the degree that I researched it’s effects and still drank it, with emphasis, I was asleep! The light of Truth did not change my actions, and I still bear the consequences as a result, though God’s grace has been beyond accounting still more. 

So my thinking here is, this is just a technique Ad for rust removal that if one is awake it will give them pause (that’s what our conscience does, it pushes the pause button) at least a little, to say, “Wow, I drink that! If it will eat rust, what must it do to my body?” Yet, statically the numbers show that most won’t even give it a second thought! 

The verse above immediately came to my mind. Notice it says, ‘so let us not be asleep, like the rest are…’. This is not the time to think judgemental about the phrasing, ‘us and them ie: the rest’. As Paul is not being such, he’s stating a fact of his days. Ironically it applies to our own with a factor multiplied by a factor of at least 10. His generation didn’t have the bombardment of years of Ads with subliminal messages and ‘sleeping potion juju’ ours does. The more something gets accepted the more asleep people become. Which for us sheep of the Pasture of Messiah, it raises serious questions. Questions that if ignored, or excused away, could put us to sleep at a very critical time. This series will address some, if not all, of these kinds of questions. 

It’s worth noting here, that the sleep indicated in the verse above is not talking about the kind we do at the end of our day to rest our bodies in preparation for the next day. Nor is the Day being spoken of as in the 12-16 hour course of sunlight in a 24 hour period. Nor is the drunkenness shown here talking about the mere consumption of alcohol. I have known more people who drink as much in the daylight hours as they do at night. I’m sure Paul did too. To be drunk means to be impaired in our judgement/discernment/assessment faculties. This is what this means. It’s also worth noting…that the fury being referred to here in this passage is REAL. It’s God’s and it’s coming, it’s His rightful time to judge. He doesn’t want us to come under the effects of it, He’s given a way out. But neither will He impair or invade anyone’s decision to do so. He has done more, sent more help and waited far longer than anyone could even try to imagine themselves being in His shoes with the lot of us. The Day of His fury will be the ultimate indication that anyone who could be awakened has been awakened and the time has arrived. There can also be no doubt based on our ability to see 7000 years as hardly impatient nor unmerciful. We wouldn’t last 7 days with the horror He has seen in us. Which is why we fall asleep. We don’t see how it’s His very person we abuse and insult when we sin. Most simply don’t know Him well enough to understand the depth of that last statement. It’s incredibly sad and its worth any effort on our part to ‘pat the cheeks’ of those around us to arouse from their sleep to teach. Otherwise we are as guilty as they. Truth has not been given to us to cherish as a possession in a hope chest in our hearts. He has been given to hold out freely, and let Him direct it as He wills. 

Romans 13:11-14

Besides all this, you know at what point of history we stand; so it is high time for you to rouse yourselves from sleep: for the final Deliverance is nearer than when we first came to trust. The night is almost over, the Day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and arm ourselves with weapons of light.  Let us live properly, as people do in the daytime – not partying and getting drunk, not engaging in sexual immorality and other excesses, not quarreling and being jealous. Instead, clothe yourselves with the Lord Yeshua the Messiah; and don’t waste your time thinking about how to provide for the sinful desires of your old nature.   

Notice how both scriptures refer to the same things. Also note that articles of ‘clothing’ are referred to in both passages. Let me also point out that though the obvious sins mentioned here are…well…the obvious ones. There is an aspect of each that can be done without doing the obvious thing. Example: engaging in sexual immorality. This covers a very very broad scope in our day and age. There is a sleeping pill assortment of this very thing. (Of all of them) I’ll just ask the questions, God can take it from there. 

Do you watch any TV or movies, videos, games or computer sites where sexually is included to any degree?

Proverbs 4:14-16

Don’t follow the path of the wicked or walk on the way of evil doers. Avoid it, don’t go on it, turn away from it, and pass on.  For they can’t sleep if they haven’t done evil, they are robbed of sleep unless they make someone fall. 

1 Thessalonians 5:21-22

But do test everything – hold onto what is good, but keep away from EVERY form of evil.   

Titus 2:11-13

For God’s grace, which brings deliverance, has appeared to all people. It teaches us to renounce (flee, run away from) godlessness and worldly pleasures, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives now, in this age; while continuing to expect the blessed fulfilment of our certain hope, which is the appearing of the Sh’khinah (Divine Presence, the manifest glory of God present with men) of our great God and the appearing of our Deliverer, Yeshua the Messiah.  

1 Peter 2:11-12

Dear friends, I urge you as aliens and temporary residents not to give in to the desires of your old nature, which keep warring against you; but to live such good lives among the pagans that even though they now speak against you as evil doers, they will, as a result of seeing your good actions (and not seeing you do bad ones), give glory to God on the Day of His coming.  

Notice every single one of these warnings comes with the same language of the Day, the times we are in, if they said it then, and if we’ve been awake, we must know that the sands in the hour glass are now down to their final trickle. They don’t give licence, no room for fudging. Sex is meant to be PRIVATE no matter how it’s done. We are guilty of playing it out into the disgusting thing it has become when we allow it to weasel it’s way in because it’s ‘not as bad as most…sites, shows’…etc. We weaken our children’s shield if they watch us compromise. Much more we are responsible, in other words, we will stand before Him for what they are exposed to. In our presence or out of it. It’s our job to teach, lead, and guide them. First by example, then by teaching. We can’t gouge their eyes out, but we can teach those eyes to water at the things that defile humanity and the great Name of the Lord of their life. It’s never too late, and time is short!

Again, I’ve had to do my share of repenting in this department. Sadly, it came after my kids were grown and into their own lives. They can’t see my repentance now. It grieves me as I can see how it’s weakened their shield and that of my grandchildren. To say I’m sorry and pray everyday for each of them is an understatement, but they likely read this and think I’m a bit of a hypocrite. Because they can’t see my repentance. They know I’ve changed, they have been asked for forgiveness, but the effects of my sleep at the times they needed me awake the most, they now rest in the same Hands I was. Which is my hope!  Adonai got through to me, I must now trust He loves them more than I.What I’m doing now, both how I live and writing this blog is fulfilling God’s desire for me. His grace will cover the rest. 

For those who have children, living at home right now, how do you engage in the battle for their hearts and minds?

For those, who like me, have children now grown and grandchildren, what can you now do to flee from the sleeping pill exceptions you make? To wake up, rouse yourself? And how can you begin to repent to all those you’ve effected with drowsiness? 

These questions remain between you and the God who asks them. For, be certain, it is not I who does. As you have read, I’m unqualified to ask. These kinds of questions always belong to the God who created all people, all things. The God who is coming to pour out the fury of those who have willfully chosen to turn away from Him and have influenced others, young or old, to do the same. You must settle your accounts with Him. 

I am praying for His grace and mercy to prevail for you, as it has for me. I am also confident of His power to work in each of us. There is no hope beyond Him. This hope is the only Truth there is. May our eyes be opened to see it, ears be opened to hear it and hearts be broken to fall into His hands of such a great grace and mercy, loving-kindness and tenderness to not only mend our own but those of our loved ones. And in time!

Part 2 – coming soon. 

🔯 May the grace and peace of Yeshua the Messiah be with you, cover you, and bring you exceeding joy 🔯

3 Comments

  1. Responsibility bigger than those who talk about worldly matters | From guestwriters said,

    […] Awake! Part 1 […]

    Like

    • buttrflygrl14 said,

      I’m unsure who you are and what you could be linking this blog to, tried to find you via Internet but came up empty. Would you mind sharing your article or post with me before I approve this. WordPress wouldn’t let me access your info.
      Thanks

      Like

      • buttrflygrl14 said,

        I found ya! Thank you for such a great post! Was very blessed by it!

        Grace and peace…in Yeshua!

        Like

Leave a Reply

From guestwriters

Lifestyle magazine and Readers Digest

Yiddishkeit 101™

Jewish educational tools for all ages

Answers in Torah

torah-observant messianic judaism (Nazarenes-Netzarim)

Jeremiah 33 Three

I will call to Him and He will answer.

Obadiah's Cave

A place of safety

Lessons From Lou

Kainos Ktisis - What it Means to Be a New Creature in Christ!

Impartial Christian Ministries

“Truly I understand that God shows no partiality." Acts 10:34

Morning Meditations

"When you awake in the morning, learn something to inspire you and mediate upon it, then plunge forward full of light with which to illuminate the darkness." -Rabbi Tzvi Freeman

Biblical Word Studies: Inspirational Commentary Translation and Exegesis

Bible Study, News and Research from a Heavenly Perspective

WTFAI

It is a great mystery that though the human heart longs for Truth, in which alone it finds liberation and delight, the first reaction of human beings to Truth is one of hostility and fear! -Anthony de Mello

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

Wise Devotions For Inspiration

Devotions are able to guide when scripture is posted, and to show someone our lives with God in it, to help others prosper like God intended.

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

Mind Traffic

Thought's to Inspire

inspirit*ational

Filled with words of inspiration.

From the Inside Out

Impressions Becoming Expressions

